Astrophysics Division

The Astrophysics division is the main group engaged in astrophysical research at Shanghai Astronomical Observatory. Research areas include active galactic nuclei and high energy astrophysics, galaxy formation and evolution, cosmology and large scale structure, star clusters and the structure of the Milk Way, star formation, and planetary astrophysics. There are now 45 faculty members, 16 postdocs, and 65 graduate students in the division.

The Astrophysics division maintains close partnerships with many astronomical research institutes, including the joint Key laboratory of research in galaxies and cosmology of CAS with University of Science and Technology of China, the joint astrophysics center with Xiamen University. Members of the astrophysics division also participate in many international and domestic astronomical projects, including LAMOST, HXMT, FAST, the Sloan Digital Sky Survey IV, TMT, LSST, etc.


Research Teams Principal Scientists
Black Hole Accretion and High Energy Astrophysics YUAN Feng 
Black Hole Feedback and Cosmic Ray Astrophysics Fulai Guo
Evolution of Galaxies  and AGN HAO Lei
Galaxy distribution Hong Guo
Gravitational wave and relativistic fundamental astronomy group Wenbiao Han
Observational High Energy Astrophysics YU Wenfei
Radio Astrophysics SHEN Zhiqiang
Star Clusters and Galactic Structure HOU Jinliang
Structure and evolution of AGN GU Minfeng
Early Universe and High-redshift Galaxies ZHENG Zhenya 
Galactic structure and dynamics ZHU Ling 


Department webpage: